Welcome to Bloodround Wrestling! We are a website for all things wrestling including news, features, results, and a weekly podcast. Thanks for visiting!

On to the Midlands Semis

Reece Lefever (Wabash) nearly made the Midlands semis losing in a close 3-2 match. Love the hair. 

Reece Lefever (Wabash) nearly made the Midlands semis losing in a close 3-2 match. Love the hair. 

This Midlands semi-finals will be held around Noon central today. There were several great matches in the quarters including a few upsets. Steven Rodriguez (Illinois) was able to knock off #6 Josh Dziewa (Iowa), but we had to figure that was too high of a ranking for Dziewa anyway. Also, #14 Timmy McCall (Wisconsin) was able to squeak out a 3-2 match over #10 Abe Ayala (Princeton). 

The three matchups in the semis we are looking forward to most have to be #4 Thomas Gilman (Iowa) vs freshman sensation Stevan Micic (Northwestern), #2 Mike Evans (Iowa) vs 3-time NAIA champ Brock Gutches (Southern Oregon), and #8 Sam Brooks (Iowa) vs #4 Jack Dechow (Old Dominion). Brooks has looked very impressive but does not have a big time win yet that Dechow would give him. 

Quarterfinal Results:

No. 4 Thomas Gilman (Iowa) dec. Ethan Lizak (Minnesota), 11-4
Stevan Micic (Northwestern) maj. dec. Kory Mines (Edinboro), 13-1
No. 14 Josh Rodriguez (North Dakota State) dec. Billy Watterson (Brown), 6-1
No. 6 Joey Dance (Virginia Tech) maj. dec. Lucas Malmberg (Messiah), 16-6

No. 1 A.J. Schopp (Edinboro) pinned No. 16 Ryan Taylor (Wisconsin), 3:59
No. 7 Zane Richards (Illinois) maj. dec. No. 11 Geoffrey Alexander (Maryland), 12-1
No. 4 Cory Clark (Iowa) pinned No. 17 Danny Sabatello (Purdue), 2:12
Jarrod Garnett (LVAC) dec. No. 19 Kevin Norstrem (Virginia Tech), 3-1

No. 2 Mitchell Port (Edinboro) maj. dec. Michael Shaw (Eastern Michigan), 11-3
No. 9 Chris Mecate (Old Dominion) dec. No. 16 Todd Preston (Harvard), 2-0
Steven Rodrigues (Illinois) dec. No. 6 Josh Dziewa (Iowa), 3-1
No. 3 Devin Carter (Virginia Tech) maj. dec. Shyhiem Brown (Maryland), 17-9

No. 1 Jason Tsirtsis (Northwestern) dec. B.J. Clagon (Rider), 2-1 TB
Brody Grothus (Iowa) dec. No. 11 C.J. Cobb (Penn), 5-2
No. 10 Brandon Sorensen (Iowa) dec. Seth Lange (Minnesota), 9-6
No. 3 Dave Habat (Edinboro) maj. dec. No. 16 Sal Mastriani (Virginia Tech), 14-4

No. 9 Isaiah Martinez (Illinois) maj. dec. Brandon Zeerip (Eastern Michigan), 24-10
Mike Kelly (Iowa) dec. Chad Walsh (Rider), 7-4
No. 18 Justin Staudenmayer (Brown) dec. Reece Lefever (Wabash) 3-2
No. 14 Cody Pack (South Dakota State) dec. Doug Welch (Purdue), 9-4

No. 4 Taylor Walsh (Indiana) dec. Jonathan Schleifer (Princeton), 3-0
No. 12 Jackson Morse (Illinois) maj. dec. Jimmie Schuessler (Grand View), 13-1
No. 8 Pierce Harger (Northwestern) dec. No. 14 Tristan Warner (Old Dominion), 5-0
No. 7 Nick Moore (Iowa) dec. No. 16 Adam Fierro (CSU Bakersfield), 4-3

No. 2 Mike Evans (Iowa) maj. dec. Chad Welch (Purdue), 9-0
Brock Gutches (Southern Oregon) dec. No. 19 Nate Jackson (Indiana), 4-2
Johnny Sebastian (Northwestern) maj. dec. Josh Snook (Maryland), 11-2
No. 9 Zac Brunson (Illinois) maj. dec. Frank Cousins (Wisconsin), 11-3

No. 2 Lorenzo Thomas (Penn) dec. No. 14 Vic Avery (Edinboro), 5-3 SV
No. 10 Hayden Zillmer (North Dakota State) dec. No. 18 Ricky Robertson (Wisconsin), 4-3 TB1
No. 8 Sam Brooks (Iowa) maj. dec. No. 13 Ophir Bernstein (Brown), 12-3
No. 4 Jack Dechow (Old Dominion) dec. Austin Gabel (Virginia Tech), 3-1

No. 6 Nathan Burak (Iowa) dec. No. 20 Jared Haught (Virginia Tech), 3-1
James Fox (Harvard) dec. Shawn Scott (Northern Illinois), 14-7
No. 14 Timmy McCall (Wisconsin) dec. No. 10 Abe Ayala (Princeton), 3-2
Jeff Koepke (Illinois) dec. Ruben Franklin (CSU Bakersfield), 3-1 SV

No. 1 Michael McMullan (Northwestern) by medical forfeit over Nicholas Gajdzik (Harvard)
No. 7 Ty Walz (Virginia Tech) dec. No. 13 Evan Knutson (North Dakota State), 4-3 TB1
No. 5 Connor Medbery (Wisconsin) pinned Dawson Peck (Maryland), 3:28
No. 3 Bobby Telford (Iowa) pinned Garrett Ryan (Columbia), 2:52