Welcome to Bloodround Wrestling! We are a website for all things wrestling including news, features, results, and a weekly podcast. Thanks for visiting!

Missouri Wins National Duals

Missouri upset Iowa to win the National Duals 18-12 at Carver-Hawkeye Arena in front of the home crowd. Missouri took six of the ten matches in a show of strength that many doubted the team that wrestles in the MAC possessed. 

Myself, and the wrestling world, is probably still trying to digest what happened this weekend to the Big Ten powers. Minnesota & Ohio State lost in the quarter-finals and Missouri beat up (formerly known as invincible) Iowa. If one of the wrestling writers posted that bracket Friday afternoon as their prediction, they would have been full on assaulted on social media. The fact is Missouri didn't just get some pin from some unranked guy for a 9-point swing to steal a dual. They won six matches. Waters beat Gilman in a great and heated match. Lavion Mayes continues to improve capping an impressive weekend dominating Dziewa (after dominating Rodrigues (Illinois) Saturday). Houdashelt beat Sorensen 2-1. LaVallee, who really didn't have any impressive wins on the year, beat up Mike Kelly 6-1. The impressive backup Alex Meyer lost a close 6-5 match to Miklus. Even if Sammy Brooks was out there and won it's still a tie score in the dual. To finish it off J'Den Cox handled Burak. 

Give Missouri all the credit. We had the National Duals with the top six teams in the country drawn in to a 16-team tournament. We drew a bracket and wrestled matches. Missouri won the event. I can't wait to discuss further on the Podcast about greater meaning on the season, but until then just know Missouri should be considered the best team in the country right now. 

Missouri 18, Iowa 12
125: No. 2 Alan Waters (Missouri) dec. No. 5 Thomas Gilman (Iowa), 5-4 TB1
133: No. 6 Cory Clark (Iowa) dec. Zach Synon (Missouri), 7-2
141: No. 5 Lavion Mayes (Missouri) dec. No. 6 Josh Dziewa (Iowa), 13-6
149: No. 4 Drake Houdashelt (Missouri) dec. No. 2 Brandon Sorensen (Iowa), 2-1
157: No. 12 Joey LaVallee (Missouri) dec. No. 15 Mike Kelly (Iowa), 6-1
165: No. 9 Nick Moore (Iowa) dec. Mike England (Missouri), 3-2
174: No. 3 Mike Evans (Iowa) dec. No. 5 John Eblen (Missouri), 4-1
184: No. 14 Willie Miklus (Missouri) dec. Alex Meyer (Iowa), 6-5
197: No. 1 J'den Cox (Missouri) dec. No. 6 Nathan Burak (Iowa), 4-3
285: No. 4 Bobby Telford (Iowa) dec. No. 16 Devin Mellon (Missouri), 6-3